Ruane New Old Member of the South Florida Task Force

Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane has been re-appointed to serve on the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task Force by Governor Ron DeSantis.

The Task Force is comprised of 14 members including federal, tribal, state, and local representatives, to develop policies, strategies, plans, programs, projects, and activities that address the restoration, preservation, and protection of the South Florida Ecosystem.

Ruane has worked closely with Federal and State delegations to advance the Everglades and northern estuaries restoration, specifically the passage of the 2014 Water Resources reform and Development Act (WRRDA).

He also helped to promote projects such as C-43 West Basin Reservoir, Everglades Agriculture Area Reservoir (EAA), Kissimmee Restoration, and the Central Everglades Planning Project (CEPP), that will prove a tremendous asset to the Task Force.

Currently, several planning initiatives are underway for the next phases of CEPP.

These include the Western Everglades Restoration Project, the Lake Okeechobee Watershed Project, and the Loxahatchee River Watershed Restoration Project.


Related news

List of related news articles