Riverprize – First Finalists Revealed

Finalists have recently been announced in two Riverprize categories for 2015 – the Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize and the Thiess International Riverprize.

Riverprize is the world’s most prestigious river award giving recognition to those who have developed and implemented outstanding, visionary and sustainable programs in river management and restoration.


The finalists in the Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize are:

  • Aorere River (Tasman);
  • Manawatu River (Manawatu);
  • Lake Taupo (Waikato);
  • Project Twin Streams (Waitakere).

The finalists in the Thiess International Riverprize are:

  • River Mur (Austria);
  • Lake Eyre Basin (Australia);
  • Jordan River (Jordan, Israel, Palestine).

Riverprize awards have been integrated into the Riversymposium for many years. Finalists’ presentations throughout the program offer a comprehensive insight into the projects, initiatives and achievements that exemplify ‘best practice’ in river restoration and protection.

The finalists will present their work in the conference program in the days leading up to the Gala Dinner, and the winner of each category will give an extended presentation in the plenary session on the final day of Riversymposium.


Related news

List of related news articles