Moorhead, Clay County form Joint Powers Authority

The City of Moorhead and Clay County, MN, have formed a Joint Powers Authority (MCCJPA) to reaffirm their support and involvement in the implementation of the Fargo-Moorhead Area Diversion Project.

Image source:

The MCCJPA had its first meeting on August 14 at the Clay County Courthouse.

“The MCCJPA’s primary objectives include the responsibility to acquire necessary property rights in Minnesota for construction and operation of the Project and to pursue additional funding for the Project from the State of Minnesota,” the Diversion Board of Authority said.

The MCCJPA unanimously adopted five charter goals:

  • To acquire the property rights necessary for the FM Area Diversion Project, in compliance with State and Federal guidelines and in accordance with the philosophy of being fair, friendly, and flexible to those whose property is required for the Project;
  • Provide uniform and equitable treatment of persons whose real property is acquired or are displaced in connection with the Project;
  • To be respectful to the taxpayers and strive to keep acquisition costs within the Project’s annual budget;
  • To be consistent, where possible within State law, with practices being used by the Cass County Joint Water Resource District, which is the entity that has been working to acquire property rights in North Dakota for a number of years;
  • As a last resort measure, use Eminent Domain to acquire the necessary property.

“The FM Area Diversion Project is a huge component of the future safety and vibrancy for Clay County,” Kevin Campbell, Clay County Commissioner and Vice Chair of the Diversion Authority, said. “The Project has followed all state laws and has successfully been through the permitting process established by the State of Minnesota. Our citizens expect construction to continue.”

The MCCJPA Board is made up of six individuals, including two members from the Clay County Commission (Kevin Campbell and Grant Weyland) consistent with its appointments to the Diversion Board of Authority, three people appointed by the City of Moorhead (Mayor Johnathan Judd, Chuck Hendrickson, and Shelly Carlson) consistent with its appointments to the Diversion Board of Authority, and one member appointed by the Buffalo Red River Watershed District (BRRWD) Board of Managers (Jay Leitch).